cherylawilliams

Just another WordPress.com site

Today is a day …

with 2 comments


Today is a day filled with inspiration coming from many directions.  Some days are like that.  On those days, the writing come easy.  Words bubble out of me freely.  They can’t contain themselves.  Other days are not so effortless.  Those are the days that take discipline.  Those are the days I don’t always feel like writing, but know I must write anyway.  My muse may be taking a nap, but I know that consistency is needed on my end.  It shows my commitment to what I do.  I have to admit that it can be a constant struggle.  On those days I search for inspiration and none is to be found, it’s hard to sit down and write.  It seems that the harder I try, the harder it is for the words to come.  Still, they come.  They may not be the best words.  They may not be the final words.  But they are words, and they always lead me to something better.  I am my own worst critic.  If what I am writing is not that great, something inside tells me to just stop and wait until I can do it better.  This is never a good idea.  What if my muse is taking a very long nap?  Am I supposed to just shut down?  Of course not.  Still, it can happen easily if I am not ever mindful of what I need to be doing.

Today my muse is awake and being a bit mischievous.  My mind is racing with new ideas, and words are flowing.  I savor the moment, because I know it may be fleeting.  Days like this help to remind me of why I love to write.

Wrestling With My Muse (a Poem)

I stare at blank pages.

They call to me with ancient rhythms

as my Muse sits on my shoulder

wearing a jester’s hat,

drinking rum from a tin cup,

teasing me into believing

he has a few words of wisdom

to fill my empty pin.

A fickle fellow is he!

Sometimes I want to hug him tight;

Other times I want to trade him in

for a bit of eloquence.

Today I just chuckle back at him

as he passes me his bottle of rum.

Written by cherylawilliams

May 4, 2012 at 5:41 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nice blogs. Continue to nurture your muse.

    Marie Pinschmidt

    May 18, 2012 at 1:08 am


Leave a Reply

