cherylawilliams

Just another WordPress.com site

Creating in Times of Little Inspiration

leave a comment »


There are times I find myself sitting around waiting to be inspired.  My best work is born of inspiration, whether it be writing or tackling a task around my house.  When I am feeling inspired, the work seems almost effortless.  It flows.  The words fall onto the page almost as if by magic.

And then come the times when there is no inspiration to be found.  These are the times that usually result in writer’s block for me.  These are the times that I find myself having to actually WORK.  There was a time when I would just give up during these periods.  I would lay my pen or computer down and just wait for the inspiration to come.  The end result was lots of waiting and no creating.

During this period I discovered that it is important to work through the times of little or no inspiration.  There is always something to do.  I can study. I can write something.  It doesn’t even have to be good.    I can read.  I can meet people and get ideas by just being a part of the universe.

I have also discovered that when I am not finding inspiration, it is often because I have boxed myself in.  As a result, I am failing to see the inspiration all around me.  Instead of music, I may see a beautiful piece of artwork if my eyes are opened to it.  Instead of listening for the laughter of a child, perhaps I need to look for the twinkle in the eye of an elderly person.  Inspiration is truly everywhere.  I block myself from finding it.

The creative process is just that…a process.  The more I understand that, the more my eyes are opened to the endless possibilities.  The more my eyes are opened to the inspiration that is all around me.

Be sure to follow me on Twitter!  https://twitter.com/#!/CherylAWilliams

If you enjoy reading flash fiction, check out my book for only .99!  http://www.amazon.com/Flash-Short-Story-Collection-ebook/dp/B0077T2FFK/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1333478547&sr=1-1

Written by cherylawilliams

April 3, 2012 at 6:43 pm

Leave a Reply

