cherylawilliams

Just another WordPress.com site

Baby Steps

leave a comment »


This has been a day of taking baby steps. Sometimes life seems overwhelming, and the big picture seems to swallow me in one giant gulp.  When I see this start to happen, I’ve learned to just take small steps.  I do things that give me a sense of accomplishment, no matter how small they may seem.  I clean out a dresser drawer.  I read a poem.  I go for a walk.  I write a letter to a friend.  Each tiny thing I do fills me with a sense of renewal.  Soon life doesn’t seem so overwhelming.

As a writer, it is easy to become overwhelmed in thinking of the big picture.  Even having been published before in magazines and journals, it is easy to get overwhelmed when faced with publishing a book.  Having just published a collection of short stories, I feel relieved at having conquered the hurdle of just getting it done.  Now the hurdle of marketing it seems enormous.  Suddenly it doesn’t matter how many hours were poured into each storyline.  It doesn’t matter how many times it has been edited.  Suddenly all that matters is getting it out there to somebody who might be interested or entertained by what I have to say.

I am also working on the final edits to a book that I spent over two years writing.  It is a YA novel that is near and dear to my heart.  It deals with bullying, self-esteem, and so many of the issues that young teen girls deal with these days.  I want people to buy the book because I truly believe that the story of Skylar Nobles is also the story of other girls her age.  I believe that in her they will be able to see themselves.  I believe her story can help other girls going through a similar circumstance.  I believe her story can even help parents learn what not to do with their teenagers.

Today was a day of small steps.  They keep me grounded.  They help me have faith and hope in more.  They help inspire me to write more, and that is all that really matters.

Written by cherylawilliams

March 3, 2012 at 3:21 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

