cherylawilliams

Just another WordPress.com site

A Polite Child Came My Way

leave a comment »


A little girl came up to me the other day. She smiled and said, “Hello, Ma’am.  How are you today?”  I about fell over, simply because I was astounded at how polite and well-spoken she was.  She was probably about eight years old.  My first thought was that her parents must really be doing something right.  My second thought was how sad it was that I would be shocked at a well-spoken, polite child.

Don’t get me wrong.  There are a lot of polite children out there.  Do I believe they are in the majority?  No.  My experience has shown me the majority of children run over their parents.  Parents have become slaves to their children.  They buy for them and give in to their wishes as a means of pacifying them so they don’t have to deal with the real issues at hand.  Parents relieve the guilt they have over not spending enough time with their children by filling them with Happy Meals and video games.  Kids throw tantrums and turn into brats because it works.  They get exactly what they want over and over again.

The sad thing about it all is the fact that when these children become teenagers, the parents are going to regret all of the times they gave in to their children.  They are going to be faced with a mountain of issues that cannot be solved with Happy Meals and video games.

It would be nice if parents could have a flash into the future to see what their children will be like if they continue on their current path.  Perhaps then parents would see a reason to change their methods of parenting.

*Check out my book for Kindle on Amazon.com.  “Flash: A Short Story Collection.”

 

Written by cherylawilliams

February 17, 2012 at 7:54 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

