cherylawilliams

Just another WordPress.com site

Whitney and Me: The Battle Within

with one comment


Tonight I ponder the life and death of Whitney Houston.  Her music was a source of inspiration to me.  I saw myself in her.  I saw her inner struggles…and I identified with them.  She was a woman of faith and family.  She was also a woman who fell into the throes of addiction, giving her love to a toxic man.  How many of us can identify with that?  I know that I can.

Nobody is perfect.  Still, it is easy to throw stones.  I’ve had stones thrown at me.  I’ve also thrown my share of stones.  It can be easy to forget that life is not all or nothing.  People are not all good or all bad.  Life is a series of choices, and an unwise choice can put us on a path that may lead to destruction.  Still, a bad choice does not mean you are a bad person.

Whitney was haunted by bad decisions.  She gave her all to a man who wasn’t good for her.  She stuck with him and loved him, probably thinking it was the Christian thing to do.  After all, her love might inspire him to change.  Unfortunately, his influence on her led to an addiction to drugs, and the Whitney who we came to love seemed to disappear from our eyes.

When she made a comeback a few years ago, she was recovering from her addiction.  She had a new found faith in God.  She knew that He was her only hope of overcoming her addiction.  Her song “I Look to You” is a poignant reminder of how far she had come, with God’s help.”

In my own life, I have struggled with my own demons.  Though I have never been addicted to drugs or alcohol, I have had my share of other addictions.  I’ve been addicted to food, to relationships, to love.  I always felt I needed someone else to make me a complete person.  This led me to remain in a toxic relationship for over 30 years.  Don’t get me wrong.  I loved the man.  I still do.  But he wasn’t good for me…nor was I good for him.

My writing shows the demons I have struggled with.  It also shows where my strength comes from.  In “Flash:  A Short Story Collection”  I have depicted the demons that many people face, the angels that find them, and the love that can eventually be found. My book can be found on Amazon.com, and is available on the Kindle.

Written by cherylawilliams

February 16, 2012 at 5:45 am

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. LOVE your post about Whitney Houston! Thank you Cheryl for being a true fan of Ms. Whitney Houston. When you get a chance, please do check out what I wrote about Whitney on my facebook profile page today: https://www.facebook.com/rosanne.catalano Thank you again for being a true fan!
    ~Rosanne C., another true fan of Ms. Whitney Houston’s.

    rcatalano

    February 16, 2012 at 4:32 pm


Leave a Reply

